Penned by Nongovernment, Nonbiased, Military Veterans. 
Private Sponsored Resource Website.

Army Commendation Medal

Table of Contents

      What is the Army Commendation Medal?

The Army Commendation Medal (ARCOM) is a mid-level award given to members of the U.S. Armed Forces who have distinguished themselves by acts of heroism, meritorious achievement, or meritorious service.

Key aspects of this honor include:

  1. Eligibility: It can be awarded to any member of the Armed Services (other than General Officers) who serves with the U.S. Army after December 6, 1941.
  2. Criteria: The act justifying the award must have been performed while serving in any capacity with the army – it should involve an accomplishment that is considerably above regular duties and responsibilities.
  3. Appearance: The medal pendant has an eagle, wings spread, standing on a laurel branch with arrows in its talons, suspended from a ribbon featuring white stripes flanked by green edges.

In addition to the basic version, the “V” device can get attached, indicating valorous actions during direct contact against the enemy – while oak leaf clusters represent subsequent awards received under the same category!

Remember, though – military decorations like ARCOM hold immense significance as they recognize an individual’s dedication & courage beyond call-of-duty inside often challenging environments! They are a lasting tribute to their exemplary services to the nation.

Other Important Army Medals:

The U.S. Army awards numerous decorations to recognize its servicemen and women’s bravery, courage, service, and achievement. Some of the most important ones include:

  1. Medal of Honor: This is the highest military decoration awarded by the U.S. government; it’s given for extraordinary valor against an enemy force.
  2. Distinguished Service Cross (DSC): It’s second only to the Medal of Honor – bestowed upon individuals who display exceptional heroism not justifying MOH while engaged with the enemy.

3. Silver Star Medal: The third-highest combat military decoration that can be awarded to a member – it recognizes singular acts of gallantry in combat.

4. Legion Of Merit: Given for exceptionally meritorious conduct & outstanding service/achievement rendered over an extended period towards crucial positions inside the army hierarchy.

5. Bronze Star Medal (BSM): Recognizes either heroic or meritorious achievement/service performed under combat conditions – also includes a “V” device for instances involving exposure towards hostile actions!

6. Purple Heart: Awarded to soldiers wounded or killed during their service from any opponent action causing injury/death directly linked with armed conflict situations

However, remember – while these medals represent top-tier honors within the American Military, each award carries significant importance, regardless of its rank, as they commemorate individual sacrifices made at various levels throughout one’s career in defense services!

Find my nearest Army recruiter here!